Days of Blood & Starlight, by Laini Taylor

Book #2 in the Daughter of Smoke & Bone Trilogy 

Instasize_0620135311

I’m having trouble containing my enthusiasm because this book was PHENOMENAL!! I loved every single moment of it even tho it was all pain pain pain.

This review will be spoiler free since I won’t be really discussing the plot. There are some strong mystery elements especially in the beginning, so I don’t want to give anything away. What I can say is that the story starts right where the first book ended and that we follow the plot through multiple POV’s which always give a great dimension to the story. Also I love the characters more than ever, Karou and Akiva my queen and my king 😥

The writing, what can I say about the writing. It is absolutely magical. I don’t know how Laini does it but when I read her books the words flow like poetry and for that reason alone I would give her all of the stars.

Apart from the writing, apart from the plot, apart from the characters, do you know why I rated it 5 stars? Because it made me think.  It made me think about issues that are ambiguous, sad and cruel but sadly relevant, issues such as war. Laini manages to capture the ugliness of war and all the emotions it stirs. And she poses some questions that I think many of us have thought about in some period of our lives; Why do we do war? What reason drives people to murder people, just for being different? And looking by the soldiers’ point of view, why do they keep fighting? Do they pursue their own ideas? Are they really fighting for what they believe in or are they fighting for what someone else wants? Are they just pawns, blindly following orders? Is everything as black and white as some want them to believe, or is the line between friend and enemy blurred? And the most critical question of them all:

Could such a concept as hope exist, in times where everywhere you look you see death?

I’d like to think yes, and Laini Taylor seems to agree with me. In Greece we have a saying that goes “hope dies last” and it has been drilled into my head since I was a little kid. Hope is the mother of all that is beautiful; happiness, joy, love, freedom, and ultimately life. If I could take one thing from this book, it would be this. Never lose hope.

So, 5 stars it is. I don’t have more to say about this truly beautiful and captivating story of two star-crossed lovers who dared to dream of life in a land of death.

TRIGGER WARNING: SEXUAL ASSAULT 

pale-pink-heartpale-pink-heartpale-pink-heartpale-pink-heartpale-pink-heart

Book Depository
GoodReads
Leave a Reply

