When Dimple Met Rishi, by Sandhya Menon – Be Prepared For Cliches and Fluff!

Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance

Series: Dimple and Rishi #1

Format: audiobook

Pages: 380

Publication Date: May 30, 2017

Publisher: Simon Pulse

My Rating: 4 stars

GoodReads || Amazon US || Book Depository


Are you looking for a tooth rotting fluffy read? For a book that will make you reevaluate the term cheesy? Look no further; When Dimple Met Rishi is the perfect match!

When Dimple Met Rishi is one of the cheesiest books I have ever read. Seriously the amount of cheesiness in here is beyond the charts; and yet, I couldn’t help but love every second of it.

Dimple and Rishi are both such different characters, something that makes their union so much more enjoyable. I loved their banter and the way Dimple always tells Rishi off; I loved how DRAMATIC Rishi gets whenever he thinks of his feelings about Dimple -seriously the boy is one of the biggest drama queens. I loved their relationship and their open communication. They discussed their feelings and thoughts, as maturely as can be expected from two 17 year olds.

I also absolutely loved the discussion around culture and how Menon manages to potray both sides so brilliantly: Rishi is a very cultural aware person, who wants to follow the traditions and customs of his culture, whereas Dimple is more of a freelancer. She doesn’t want to get married to the ideal indian husband (I. I. H.) and be a housewife; she doesn’t want her whole life to be revolved around looking pretty in order to score a guy. She has dreams and aspirations whih she pursues ferociously.

Rishi on the otherr hand is all about TRADITION. He loves talking about India and feels proud of his heritage. The way he stands up for himslef and what he believes in is remarkable and one of the aspects of his character I liked the most. The other is that he thinks like he reads the script of a Bollywood movie. I told you he is D R A M A T I C.

This book could have easily been a 5 star if for not for Dimple’s behaviour towards the end; I don’t want to spoil anything so I won’t say much, just that I feel like Menon rushed some thought processes so much which ended up ruining the natural flow of the plot.

When Dimple Met Rishi is a feel good contemporary, which will make your heart flutter and your teeth rot from the fluff. One thing is for certain: after reading this book, make sure you have some Bollywood films on hand because you sure will need them!


Have you read When Dimple Met Rishi? What did you think of it?

3 thoughts on “When Dimple Met Rishi, by Sandhya Menon – Be Prepared For Cliches and Fluff!

Leave a comment