Mini reviews: 3 mystery thrillers!

Hello and welcome to another post!

Today I thought I’d discuss with you the last 3 mystery/thrillers I read. I know it is surprising, since I never was one to read this genre, but lately I’ve found myself gravitating towards it, and I certainly want to dvelve into it more!

In Greece we say “τα πολλά λόγια είναι φτώχια” which roughly translates to “many words are/bring poverty” so without any further ado, let’s jump straight in the 3 mini reviews!


All These Beautiful Strangers, by Elizabeth Klehfoth (GoodReads)

I really enjoyed All These Beautiful Strangers (which we’ll call ATBS cause it’s long thx). It has most of the things I look for in a mystery: a fast pace and cliffhangers every other chapter. The story is told through 3 perspectives two of which take place in the past, and one in the present. From that you gather that as the reader is about to learn something big in either timeline, the narrative is cut and you’re left on a huuuge cliffhanger. Personally one of my favourite narrative techniques for this type of stories.

The story is simple: the main character, Charlie finds herself in a tangle of lies and secrets as she tries to gain access to the super exclusive and all powerful secret society of her private school. I always love a good secret society and underground machination type of story, so it was right up my alley. Naturally there’s a murder involved, a missing mother and many many secrets which run from Charlie’s school to her own rich family.

ATBS is a novel that keeps you on the edge of your seat and definitely gives you this mystery – adrenaline rush!


Sawkill Girls, by Claire Legrand (GoodReads)

Unfortunately, Sawkill Girls disappointed me. I had really high expectations, as the was much hype surrounding it, but for me at least it did not deliver.

The premise of the story is very intriguing as is the way it is written; LeGrand’s lyrical and mysterious type of writing compliments the dark and otherwordly nature of the story. And that’s about it. Apart from the writing style and the premise everything else falls flat: from pacing to actual plotline to characters. Flat, flat and flat. The most intriguing characters are not given enough time to grow and instead the reader gets an underdeveloped romantic subplot which, I guess serves to fill the gap and make us sympathise with the characters more. I appreciate what the author tried to achieve with this story as well as the feminist tones it carries, I really do. I just wish it was executed in a way that served its purpose, and not undermined it.

Sawkill Girls was by no means bad; I liked it. It just didn’t blow me away the way I expected, and there were some faults that if redeemed would take this from a 3 to a 5 star read.


Don’t You Cry, Mary Kubica (GoodReads)

I found Don’t You Cry, to put it plainly, bad.

I didn’t like anything about it apart from the premise and the pacing. That’s it. You want to talk characters? Adults acting more immaturely than a 14 year old are really not my cup of tea. Neither is plot twists that make themselves aparent from the very first chapters of a mystery novel. I don’t want to talk more about this book because honestly there was nothing I liked lol. I gave it 2 stars just for the sake of the premise and the pacing which I have to admit was alright. Meh.


Have you read any of the these books? What are your thoughts?

Leave a comment